About

 Country Queers is a multimedia oral history project documenting the diverse experiences of rural, small town, and country LGBTQIA folks in the USA through audio recordings, transcriptions, and photographs.

  We are gathering stories from throughout the USA in order to document how experiences of country queerness are similar, and how they differ based on race, class, age, ability, gender identity, immigration status and other parts of our identities.


r-garringer-portrait-by-meg-wilson

Photo by Meg Wilson

My name is Rachel Garringer.  I founded this project in 2013 out of an intense feeling of frustration with the lack of rural queer visibility, and the extreme sense of isolation I felt as a queer person living back home in Southeastern West Virginia.  Since then I’ve been lucky enough to interview 45 amazing Country Queers in 14 States!

If you’d like to know more about me and my intentions please click here.

Country Queers is an ongoing project and would not exist without the support of volunteers, the donations of supporters, and the generosity and bravery of those who share their stories!

Please get in touch if you’d like to participate and follow us on Social Media for updates.

 

4 replies »

  1. I am a queer/lesbian 29 year old in oregon, moved here from florida 3 years ago. I would love to add to your project as I have experienced country life and city life in both places and have had a very interesting experience with both. I believe in what you are doing, and it excites me to the core that I may be able to hear other stories like mine.

  2. Hi Rachel, I’m Loring. My husband Wil and I live in Oklahoma. He grew up in the city, I grew up on the farm. Coming out was difficult for both of us and our families, but now in our 40’s life is as normal as anyone else’s can be. We eloped to Iowa in 2010 and are accepted by our families as a married couple should be. We’d like to be legally accepted in our state, but that’s another story. We aren’t living on the farm now, but on 2 acres north of Edmond. Our plan is to move back in about 5 years. There’s not a problem with how the people treat us there, I’m one of theirs. If you are from the community and have family there, the entire community will have your back in most small towns. It’s just like family. I might pick on my little brother, but no one else gets away with it. That’s the mentality in small towns, and they look out for their own. Thanks for doing your project, it is much needed. There’s a lot of us out here, and we need folks to know it’s okay to live the life that is best for you. Blessings to you, Loring & Wil

  3. I hope you will include the voices of elder queers who have grown up/are living in the country and can speak to what it was like 30-40 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s